//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

10-book-30-day challenge: Final Results

So I must tell you, gentle reader, I failed in my efforts to finish 10 books in 30 days.

I did manage to read the following.  You can read my mini-reviews here and here.

Made to Stick by Chip Heath & Dan Heath

Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do (and What It Says About Us) – Tom Vanderbilt

Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell

Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable – Seth Godin

All Marketers are Liars: The Underground Classic That Explains How Marketing Really Works–and Why Authenticity Is the Best Marketing of All – Seth Godin (No mini-review on this.  It’s a good book, and I don’t have anything to say that hasn’t been said before.  Go read it.)

The Other Boleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory

The books I didn’t finish:

Lit: A Memoir – Mary Karr and The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson

I could have read Lit.  But I had a hard time getting into it.  The narrative felt a little more nonlinear and ephemeral than her previous books, which are quite vivid and detailed.  Then my in-laws came in town, and I gave up trying to read and just hung out with them all the time.  They’re good people and they have a predilection for making margaritas every night.  We got along okay.

As for the Stieg Larsson book, I cheaped out because it’s only available on hardback right now and didn’t feel like spending the money.  But it’s Stieg Larsson.  It’s gonna rock, we all know it.

Do I get extra credit for reading other books?  I read Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith.  I love, love, love this book.  There are off-colour jokes about balls and epic fight scenes and quadriplegics and ninjas.  Read this book.  Can’t wait for the movie.

Then I read What She’s Not Telling You: Why Women Hide the Whole Truth and What Marketers Can Do About It by Mary Lou Quinlan, Jen Drexler, and Tracy Chapman.  If you’re in marketing, this a fantastic book to read about marketing to women and the motives that drive their purchase decisions.  The authors offer up an acronym as a mnemonic device: GAMES which stands for Good Intentions, Approval Seeking, Martyrdom, Ego Protection, and Secret-Keeping.  The book offers up a lot of anecdotes, examples, and case studies.  The lessons in it will definitely stick with me.  (By the way, the Kindle edition is less than $5, a helluva bargain.  I read almost this entire book on my Android phone using the Kindle app).

Books I half read and will get to later:  The Dip: A Little Book That Teaches You When to Quit (and When to Stick).  I’m liking this one so far.  A little depressing when you think of all the things you’ve quit in your life.

Books I finished:  Lay the Favorite: A Memoir of Gambling – Beth Raymer.  I didn’t like Lay the Favorite as much as I thought I would.  I like psychological insights into degenerate gamblers, and there wasn’t enough of that.  It’s going to made into a movie one day, according to the NPR interview with the author.

Anyways, it may be a while before I attempt the 10-book-30-day challenge again.  The fall season is starting up, and it’s time to go keep my couch company.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

