//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Update on the 10-book-30-day challenge

I challenged myself awhile back to read more and watch TV less.  Here’s the progress report.

Made to Stick by Chip Heath & Dan Heath – finished this one on August 1.  This is an excellent book, especially if you’re writing a blog.  Now whenever I feel like something’s missing from a post, I consider the SUCCESs model (Simple, Unexpected, Concrete, Credible, Emotional, Stories) and I can usually figure out why my post feels like it’s falling flat and how to fix it.  This book’s a bible, and I don’t plan on returning it to my sister (wink).

The OtherBoleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory – This book is long and addictive.  It’s what you might call a classic summer read.  The author takes a few liberties with the historical facts (it IS fiction), but she paints such compelling portraits that you have to know what happens.  I purposely kept myself away from the Wikipedia entries for many of the characters, for fear of spoilers.  Also, Anne Boleyn starts off as an admirably calculating badass and warps  gradually into a raging bitch.  It’s awesome.  Screw the movie.  Read the book.  I also cheated and read The Queen’s Fool, also by Gregory, and loved it.

Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell – a typical Gladwell book.  Honestly, I can’t remember much about it.  Gladwell’s books are like fast food: filling but memorable only in the haziest of ways.  Go read Gang Leader for a Day.  That one will stick better.

Lay the Favorite: A Memoir of Gambling – Beth Raymer – I’m stuck on this one.  It started out as an interesting read about the intriguing yet banal everyday doings of professional gamblers, but now it’s taken an emotional veer into the personal life of the author.  Which I get.  It is a memoir, after all.  I just didn’t expect it to do that.  I’m in the middle of Traffic right now, so I’ll regroup and re-attack Lay the Favorite after.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Update on the 10-book-30-day challenge, Part 2 « Shilpanicodemus's Blog - August 11, 2010

  2. Pingback: 10-book-30-day challenge: Final Results « Shilpanicodemus's Blog - September 6, 2010

Leave a Reply

