//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

10 books. 30 days. Can it be done?

I did it back in January for a month, and got through eleven books. I had to give up TV at the same time to pull it off, but it got done.

Made to Stick by Chip Heath & Dan Heath

Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us – Seth Godin

(Update 08/18/10: I’ve decided to nix this book, and replace it with The Dip: A Little Book That Teaches You When to Quit (and When to Stick) by Seth Godin.  Why?  Long story short: The Dip was cheaper and I’ve had to spend my money on other things, like, oh  I don’t know, a transmission.)

Traffic: Why We Drive the Way We Do (and What It Says About Us) – Tom Vanderbilt

Outliers – Malcolm Gladwell

Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable – Seth Godin

All Marketers are Liars: The Underground Classic That Explains How Marketing Really Works–and Why Authenticity Is the Best Marketing of All – Seth Godin

Lay the Favorite: A Memoir of Gambling – Beth Raymer

Lit: A Memoir – Mary Karr

The Other Boleyn Girl – Philippa Gregory

The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest – Stieg Larsson

I know this is a social media blog, but I will go nuts if I read nothing but marketing books for 30 days. Can you imagine what I’d sound like?

“We need to regionalize our brand message, to promote consumer-initiated dialogue! It’s vitally necessary that we narrow our focus on the local customer, like we have friggin laser beams attached to our heads!”

Hence the presence of fiction and memoirs. Also I’m on a Seth Godin kick. Wish me luck.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Update on the 10-book-30-day challenge « Shilpanicodemus's Blog - August 4, 2010

Leave a Reply

